JHOVE Tips for Developers: Call for proofreaders

As a practice run for publishing Files that Last on Smashwords, I’ve put together a small but hopefully useful e-booklet, JHOVE Tips for Developers, which I’m planning to put up there on a “choose your own price” basis. This will help me work out the process of creating the book on a small scale, and maybe it will buy me a Whopper and fries.

For a book of this sort I obviously can’t afford paid proofreading, but I’m hoping one or two people might give it a looking over before I submit the book. You can get the draft as a PDF here.

I’d offer you a free copy in return, but you can get that anyway. What I can do is offer people who give useful feedback credit in the book, as well as my personal thanks.

5 responses to “JHOVE Tips for Developers: Call for proofreaders

  1. I’ve copied it to an OpenOffice.org text document so I can do markup inline rather than doing it by hand and then typing it up to send, much less hard-mailing you a printout with illegible scrawls on it.
    The PDF is read-only, but I don’t think I have Adobe to modify PDFs anyway.

    • I’ve just emailed you the original OpenOffice document. Many thanks.

      • I’ve just printed it out, two-sided.

        Since you work in OO, maybe you can tell me. I have a HP Deskjet F4280 (whose Canon replacement is downstairs waiting to be unboxed and installed). I printed “left (back) pages only” first, spun the output 180º in the horizontal plane so the printing would go on the unprinted side with the tops at the same end, and printed “right (front) pages only”. And now I have
        cover / 26
        TOC / 24
        1 / 22
        3 / 20

        25 / “DRAFT”

        I can make my notes this way, but wha’ hoppen?

  2. It sounds to me as if it did just what you told it to, though I may be misunderstanding. You had a stack of pages numbered (let’s forget the unnumbered introductory pages for the moment and pretend it starts with 1) 1, 3, … 25. Then you presumably flipped the whole stack over, so it would now print 2, 4, … 26. When you flip the stack over, the top page is page 25, and the page that will print on its back is page 2.

    Now you’re probably asking, “But what use is that?” Odd pages only and even pages only are used to create separate stacks of masters for two-sided copying, not for direct two-sided printing. Let’s say I was creating a songbook. I might print a set of odd-page masters, then use these to print 50 production copies of each page. When I was done, I’d pick up the stacks, take the even-page masters, and print them on the back of the odd production pages, in the same order. (That’s hypothetical; what I really do is take them to Staples and let them worry about it.)